HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Advanced Knife Bro

Old Busthead The Oaks Saison Beer Review. Aged in fancy wine barrels!

273 ratings | 1585 views
My current favorite beer from Virginia brewery Old Busthead is The Oaks Saison aged in malbec and merlot wine barrels. It is a fancy beer for fancy ladies and men alike. Come sit with me while I awkwardly sip this elegant brew from a fine Northern Virginia craft brewery. https://www.oldbusthead.com/oaks-dark-saison #beereviews #oldbusthead #advancedknifebro
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (169)
irsauers (1 month ago)
Looks like you might live near me if you go to Old Bust Head Brewery. I'm in Haymarket
Advanced Knife Bro (1 month ago)
Yep I live pretty close
Doby Pilgrim (4 months ago)
I don't understand how it is that you're not at 100k subs. Keep it up.
Advanced Knife Bro (4 months ago)
Fuck it's hard work. Thanks man!
Stéphane Grenier (5 months ago)
Sounds like something I might like, even though it's a bit too big for EDC.
2TEN90 Brewing (5 months ago)
Just found you page looking for good beer reviews and subbed! Think you do great beer reviews and looking forward to more (and checking out your other vids as well).This one sounds awesome! We also review beers and upload home brewing vids, brewery tour vids and really all things beer related. Check us out if you get a chance! Cheers!
2TEN90 Brewing (5 months ago)
Thanks so much! Cheers!
Advanced Knife Bro (5 months ago)
Will do, thanks man!
Old Ben (6 months ago)
Not available in many areas? Shucks.. not you, me..
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Yeah I doubt many people outside Northern Virginia can find this release by them.
Lance Leon (6 months ago)
I love these alcohol reviews.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I love drinking beer, so it works out!
Dan Bartolucci (6 months ago)
....IS THAT A BABY SIZED HAMBURGER?!?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Not made of babies!
Dan Bartolucci (6 months ago)
I really enjoy these.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Shit man... this was my lowest viewed video in a while in the first week.
Sky Rausch (6 months ago)
👍👍
CanBaconDbleCheese (6 months ago)
May I sugges you do a throwback to your roots, and try a good wheat beer like Franziskaner.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I swear I drank that in one video- I just don't remember which one.
JJ Dente (6 months ago)
comment left!
SandBrother (6 months ago)
What was the dimensions?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Jug sized!
Olif Olson (6 months ago)
I support beer reviews
GT Steel (6 months ago)
I enjoy these videos.
GT Steel (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro there’s no downside
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I enjoy making them... less time spent, and also because I get to drink.
John Smith (6 months ago)
“Makes you want to smack your lips, sort of like an asshole.” Sort of? SORT OF? Brother, please. Asshole. ;-)
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Guilty as charged!
MrZlooze (6 months ago)
Though I am not familiar with this brew, I am delighted that you have something in your quiver in addition to PBR. I am a fan of flavor.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
It'll get ya just as drunk!
Mitchell Delmar (6 months ago)
Just shared with a buddy who loves his fancy suds. Your opinion matters!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Thanks dude!
CVN71 OU812 (6 months ago)
“I’m not a good writer”, lol.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I ain't!
bogoljub djordjevic (6 months ago)
make video about worst beer!!
bogoljub djordjevic (6 months ago)
is it hit in the head or no? :D
The Blackacre (6 months ago)
More beer reviews!!!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Man this one has not done too well so far.
Troy Wheatley (6 months ago)
AKB , my kinda fella, knives flashlights meat and beer...what more could a knife bro want? Well...i could think of one more thing ;) Cheers mate
Scott Chantos (6 months ago)
The view count may not reflect it, but the beer reviews are welcomed. After batoning the shit out of the like button on my iPad with a Spyderco Manix with a Sierra Nevada bottle, I’m left to reflect upon the poor choices I have made in my life. Are you taking suggestions for other beers, or just reviewing whatever is in the fridge that week?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
This one will probably end up being my lowest view count in its first 48 hours in months. I’ll have to do a more popular beer next time- and if that doesn’t work I’ll just stick to knife stuff.
Patrick Richard (6 months ago)
For me, the facial expressions tell me more about the drink than any fancy words that attempt to describe its taste. That’s what makes these reviews invaluable! 👍
TheRevDr (6 months ago)
You're a loser. You have a unique ability to make a fancy microbrew sound classless and somehow dirty. Also the faces you make when smelling and tasting the beer, are...well...let's go with comedic, since I already insulted you in the first sentence, even though you told me to.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I had to pull out a few gnats once. That’s ok though I don’t think they drank much of the beer.
Tony Canniffe (6 months ago)
Disappointed not to see the Cold Steel colossus flipping those patties
Shane Harris (3 months ago)
Right lmao
Stutterin` Bob (6 months ago)
I would drink beer with a goat I would drink beer on a boat I would drink beer in a box I would drink beer in my socks. I do, I do I do like beer Slammed I Am
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Poetry!
lerch400block (6 months ago)
I've been enjoying Shiner strawberry pale ale. It's so good
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I loved flavored beers. Sam Smiths organic cherry wheat is a favorite. I'll try this one too.
Nasty Nate OutDoors (6 months ago)
Have to try it. Only 25 min. From my house.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
They make some good stuff. I usually like their odd beers in house than the stuff you see at the grocery store.
James Oney (6 months ago)
U live in va?? I live about 10 mins from old busy head... been watching you for a long time on YouTube!!!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I'll keep that in mind, when I get my review pile a little more manageable.
Nasty Nate OutDoors (6 months ago)
We should definitely plan something. I have quite a bit of nice folders and fixed blades. Advanced Knife Bro, your more than welcome to review any of them. Have a few LT Wright fixed blades and machetes. Tops fixed blades. And a lot of Spydercos, Kizer, ZT.
James Oney (6 months ago)
Nasty Nate OutDoors I’m down I’m in Gainesville flag football practice for my son
Nasty Nate OutDoors (6 months ago)
James Oney I just moved from Haymarket to Marshall VA about 15 mins up 66. We should have a knife collection meet and greet.???
James Oney (6 months ago)
Nice me too man!!! I’m in Bristow! Keep up the great work bud!
chuckles470 S (6 months ago)
The little burger haha.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Toddler sized!
Dr. Tautology (6 months ago)
You know what I like about your reviews? You actually use and abuse the beers, not just take pretty Instagrams of yourself after drinking them. I'm gonna follow suit.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
The key is to drink them, and look like your a kinda guy who drinks em. This is what the beer lifestyle looks like.
m chipman (6 months ago)
Hey Old Busthead Brewery is like 5 minutes from my house!
zachary graf (6 months ago)
love it
Matt Ashe (6 months ago)
Get the impression it's an Americanised Belgian style of beer? It's 6AM as I watch this.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Yeah... I’m a fan of Belgians and this one is sort of like one of those.
Kevin homer (6 months ago)
Use a charcoal grill. Your meat and beer will be better.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Nevermind, I just bought one. Thanks for the headsup.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Nice one. Where did you order it? Their website? How long did it take? I really like the looks, and the price is right.
Kevin homer (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro hey thanks for the reply, really like your channel been subbed for a few months now. Just got the aranyik extended Latin machete in the mail today.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I ain’t got that patience. Can I just put charcoal in my beer to get the same effect?
Mr. Huckleberry (6 months ago)
Homer likes beer and he wrote The Iliad while he worked as a nuclear engineer. So, fancy beer is good for you- especially if you like radioactive dactylic hexameters.
Mr. Huckleberry (6 months ago)
Naw, I had to google all that shit.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I didn’t know we had a history professor hanging out in the comments section!
eddiekslay (6 months ago)
I really want a beer now
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Me too!
c k (6 months ago)
Ohhhh. You mean asshole as in person not body part. Got it after the rewind... You had me envisioning incorrectly there for a second.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Maybe both?
Trevor 87 (6 months ago)
Loving the beer reviews
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Thanks man!
sunshyn21 (6 months ago)
Hope you got a tiny bun for your daughter's tiny burger! And doing a beer review on something I can't get my hands on is a tad evil. Just sayin.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
She still eats the meat and bread separately .
Haunted Puppeteer (6 months ago)
Fascinating! I don't drink beer, or alcohol at all really - but, fascinating! And rather hilarious. You say you can't write, but I really have to disagree.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Sometimes I wish I had a little more time per script- but well I spend as much time as I can.
c k (6 months ago)
Haunted Puppeteer self depracating
Jeff Heilgeist (6 months ago)
Awesome
NotTooSuckyReviews (6 months ago)
This looks like an engaging beer, engagement, like, comment, watch till end 2 times ENGAGIIIIIIIIIING!!! How does this beer work in your lawnmower engine compared to the 10-weight?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I know it sounds weird but I love sitting on the old noisy lawnmower and listening to music for an hour and a half.
NotTooSuckyReviews (6 months ago)
Better get busy and have a son; it'll be his problem in 10 years. I have 7 1/2 years left to wait... or make the girl do it in about 2 :-)
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
That lawnmower ran out of gas last night. Shit, I’m a terrible lawn guy.
Stahlwerk88 (6 months ago)
Is the tiny burger patty for your child? Because that’s absolutely adorable.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Yep! It’s hers and she ate it!
zoo (6 months ago)
Do a knife review while drunk.
zoo (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro wear oven mitts.
fenrisulfur666 (6 months ago)
Do a beer review while stabbing yourself. With a knife? A purple knife!!!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I think you want me to stab myself.
anpefleyable (6 months ago)
If you hollow grind the centers of your burgers before you cook them they come out less convex when they're done.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Noted!
John Waddington (6 months ago)
I always prefer big jugs, compared to smaller jugs,,, they're just much better, (imho),,,
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Hey-yo!
Justin V (6 months ago)
Wine beer must be a thing now. Seems like beer makers are not too different from knife makers when it come to "me too" (as in moneky see monkey do, not H. Weinstein). Dogdish Head currently has one 'available' that might actually be obtainable outside of your area: https://www.dogfish.com/brewery/beer/siracusa-nera but it's thicker and heavier and one probably cant drink as much of it before needing to reconsider some life choices.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Yeah... it gives it a nice taste- and for me I prefer it to a bourbon aged one.
Jeff Heilgeist (6 months ago)
Not bad now just send me a sample.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I sent my septic tank a sample.
- - (6 months ago)
Not sure if I'd love it or hate it, but this one sounds really interesting. I did have to go pick up some Boulevard Wheat after your review. Does it taste lighter in flavor than you remember?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Dales pale ale is Oskar blues brewery. I haven’t had heir unfiltered wheat in probably 6 years or more- they seem to have a limited selection out here. I can get their expensive stuff, but not their staples any more
- - (6 months ago)
All these years I thought it was a filtered wheat until I looked closely at the new logo. It sure isn't a hefeweizen. It was really nice to have with the weather warming up. I think I have a new appreciation for it. I've tried a few of the smokestack series, will keep an eye out for Tank 7 as well as some Pale Ale
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Yeah... it’s probably blue moonish if I remember correctly. Back then in 2000 it was a new thing for me... it wasn’t clear. My first encounter with an unfiltered wheat. I also had Fat Tire around that time though... both two breweries are my two favorites now. Our taste buds have been accustomed to much more flavorful stuff now- but the wheat is a good alternative to a macro brew (AHB). Boulevards smokestack series has some interesting stuff too. tank 7 is a good one.
Micah Davis (6 months ago)
If I don’t like beer OR wine but I still watched, does that make me a fanboy?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
It just makes you cool!
Joseph Kasperek (6 months ago)
Ha ha ha ha ha ha skit from SNL....fucking great bro!!!
DontBotherNone (6 months ago)
Wine beer? Well hello mr. fancy pants.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I think I’ll start wearing bloomers!
D Gray (6 months ago)
That's the fanciest 40 I ever saw.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
It’s a 40XL!
Max S (6 months ago)
The two things I spend all my money on. Knives and beer. Keep the brewviews coming.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Will do, cause I like drank!
Chase Boatright (6 months ago)
I love knives and beer. So I would like to see more reviews of both. And now I want to go to Missouri to try that beer.
Chase Boatright (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro Oh ok. That's about the same distance for me either way. Thanks for letting me know.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Oh this one is Virginia. I am a Missouri native- but live in Virginia and work out of DC now. This brewery is one of the closest to me.
Dan F. (6 months ago)
Is "jug" a southern term for a growler (64oz.)? Either way, that saison looks good. I'm also a fan of malbecs. To the beer store!
- - (6 months ago)
I never really thought of it just being a jug but you're absolutely right. I feel woker now
Dan F. (6 months ago)
....could be all that 'shine.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
No... it’s just what a growler is. I don’t know if I’ve heard anyone refer to it as such... I have no original ideas so I must have heard it somewhere. They’re called growlers everywhere I’ve been.
Stephen Thornton (6 months ago)
keep the beer reviews coming.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Will do! I enjoy them.
venger78 (6 months ago)
Interesting combo. Beerwine. Can't help but think about Buckfast, but that's just fortified wine brewed by monks for "chavs".
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Sounds gud!
A Ray (6 months ago)
U gotta love it when he smells the Beer! "Smack your lips sword of like an Asshole..." LMFAO!
A Ray (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro Ha! Right!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I wonder if people do it- it sounds annoying!
Clayton Shuff (6 months ago)
Review an IPA next please.
Clayton Shuff (6 months ago)
Advanced Knife Bro look for Space Dust IPA, it's a duesy.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I’ll be honest I like the heavily piney and grapefruity ones. The ranger was the first I remember ever trying- and it’s kind of my reference. I never looked it up to see how people like it... but my regular favorites are that- BLvds single wide- and Hopslam if I can find it. Bells two hearted is good... and dales pale ale is a good hoppy beer- not technically an IPA though.
Matt Kandel (6 months ago)
Real talk, my problem with ipa's isn't the terrible flavor. It's that I don't know which kinds are decent so I'll have 5 shitty ones to 1 good one. You should grab a mixed 6 for a compare and contrast video. Drink all the bad beers so we don't have to!
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
It’ll probably be the Ranger. I’ll make sure I let it sit in a pot for a week in the red shed to keep it up to par.
Matt Kandel (6 months ago)
Make sure it's the most dank ipa you can find. I want it to taste like it was filtered through a musty roll of carpet that's been sitting in an attic for 40 years and sipped from a old work boot.
William Rainone (6 months ago)
A beer review AFTER a knife review. Now you got the idea bro. Much safer that way
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I’m trying to keep the people happy!
Mark Tudor (6 months ago)
The closest to a Merlot a beer lover will get. Judging by the proper tasting techniques you employed. And thanks for stirring my curiosity to no certain angst. Where the hell could I find that shit in Atlanta? High and dry is about right.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
AHBINBEV: We suck.
Mark Tudor (6 months ago)
I would pay big bucks for a pallet jack of Oculto agave. Any updates Anheuser-Bush?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I think this is athe second growler of it I’ve purchased. They make a lot of IPAs- but everyone makes IPAs and I already have favorite IPAs. I like that it ain’t a 10-12abv- but still has a nice flavor. I do not have the best palette, but I drink enough types of beers to know a good one when I try it.
Dave Maez (6 months ago)
"6.8% ABV ... can't finish the whole jug in one day." Ah man, that probably means we'll never get a four loko review video. I guess it's to be expected though, as you've never done a knife review on a shard of broken glass with a bloody rag wrapped around it as a handle.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I’d be blackout drunk if I did that! Sounds fun- for everyone but those that know me!
jandlp14 (6 months ago)
Overall length and grip area?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
The jug fits the hand nicely!
Adrian Valentine (6 months ago)
That looks really interesting in an amber dark reddish brownish type way, with the subtle taste of 6.8 percent alcohol by volume. Yummy by any stretch of the imagination, perfect accompaniment for a slippy slider on the side fighting against the current with pot fries and a long and porky...or...fish chips and sausage for short. Nice! :)
Adrian Valentine (6 months ago)
Damn, really sorry about that, but quite frankly I couldn't compete with your deft ability at word use!! Thumbs up! :))
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Hey now, you’re making me look bad- you stole my whole group of interchangeable words for my next one!
thechugdude (6 months ago)
Sweet jugs! You should try out some Peanut nore.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I hear that’s a real good whine.
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Noted!
eduardo rivera (6 months ago)
You are a good beer reviewerer. Stopped working to watch this. The people working under me can fuck off! Cheers
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Fuck em!
brian miller (6 months ago)
Your beer reviews don't suck, personally I'm hoping that you'll expand to doing whiskey reviews as well
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I would be terrible at it! I’m not a fan of liquor
ElyssaAnderson (6 months ago)
*cringe* It's obviously pronounced "merlot", as in: "Holy Shetland Ponies, Lurlene done whanged Earl upside the head-bone with that faincy bottle of merlot grape juice!"
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
I disagree!
How is the buzz retention on it?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
Muy bueno!
michael mackey (6 months ago)
my wife laughs her ass off at your beer reviews . you are in P.A . right ? were ohio , is that avail here ?
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
VIrginia!
Michael Rossi (6 months ago)
I'll have a coffee. Beer it is
Advanced Knife Bro (6 months ago)
beer me barista!
michael mackey (6 months ago)
first

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.